Try @LoveBeeSweet Lemonade a Girl-Owned and Operated Business

Little Mikaila is an enterprising young girl in Austin, Texas. I think it’s awesome that she has started her own business selling lemonade sweetened with honey. Most important, she is on a mission to save bees, which are a important part of our eco-system. Here’s a little bit more about her in her own words.

beesweet_lemonadeWhen I was just four, my family encouraged me to make a product for a Children’s business competition (the Acton Children’s Business Fair) and Austin Lemonade Day. So I put on my thinking cap. I thought about some ideas. While I was thinking, two big events happened.  

  • I got stung by a bee. Twice.  
  • Then my Great Granny Helen, who lives in Cameron, South Carolina, sent my family a 1940’s cookbook, which included her special recipe for Flaxseed Lemonade.  

I didn’t enjoy the bee stings at all. They scared me. But then something strange happened. I became fascinated with bees. I learned all about what they do for me and our ecosystem. So then I thought, what if I make something that helps honeybees and uses my Great Granny Helen’s recipe? 

That’s how BeeSweet Lemonade was born. It comes from my Great Granny Helen’s flaxseed recipe and my new love for bees. So that’s why we sweeten it with local honey. And today my little idea continues to grow. 

Sounds like she is not only super sweet but also super smart. Watch her video below and visit her site BeeSweet™ Lemonade to learn more about Miss Mikaila and her passion for bees & business.

[Photo Credits: Miss Mikaila Ulmer and Texarkana Gazette]

4 responses to “Try @LoveBeeSweet Lemonade a Girl-Owned and Operated Business

Leave a Reply

